“Goodbye, Why…” (I never thought I’d see you go) a poem by Westley Nash

“That little light in me went out…”

“Somewhere along the way, everything lost meaning.”

– Unknown

“Goodbye, Why…” (I never thought I’d see you go…)

Goodbye why…It’s really hard here without you.
Because you gave me so much reason to plan, to act and to do.

Goodbye why… I honestly never thought I’d see you go.
My trusted friend in a world of nothingness, helping me lead the show.

For when the world questioned the worth of my choices,
I’d turn to you and point: “This is why!”

Whenever I’d feel a doubt in my own resolve,
I’d look across to you and think: “That’s why”

But now I have nothing to offer up. No answers within myself.
Because I don’t even know why anymore…

It left me along with everything else.

Westley Nash (2022)
#thoughtsofsteel“


“But lately, what I’ve been crying about the most is myself. The person I used to be and lost, and the person in the present with no clue about their future.”

– Unknown (paraphrased)

You can hear a spoken version of this poem on my Youtube Channel here:


Leave a comment