“Heart Struck Numb” (I can’t write like I used to…) by Westley Nash


“All of a sudden I felt really tired. Like the world had drained me for everything that I had.”

– Unknown

“HEART STRUCK NUMB” (I can’t write like I used to…)

I cannot write like I used to, since my heart struck numb.

Suffered such grief that it’s lost it’s tongue!

No desire for it to speak, no urge to outwardly express.

Forever keeping to itself and concealing the distress.

Tired and exhausted, the passion quickly fades.

Barely enough to keep myself breathing each day.

A pen full of ink, but empty of all it’s meaning.

A page owning promise, yet sold of all it’s feeling…

Westley Nash (2022)
#thoughtsofsteel


“There are losses that rearrange the world. Deaths that change the way you see everything. Grief that tears everything down. Pain that transports you to an entirely different universe, even while everyone else thinks nothing has really changed.”

– Megan Devine

You can watch a spoken word of this poem on my YouTube channel here:


Leave a comment